ID:165894

I've looked a few tutorials and I'm not sure how to do it still. I want the player to have to face the NPC to attack it, and then if damage is done a sprite pops up to show the hit. I'm new to attack systems
Like this?

mob/verb/attack()
for(var/mob/M as mob in get_step(src,src.dir))
world << "attack!"// replace with attack code

It uses a loop to attack any monsters 1 tile infront of the source, using the get_step command (look it up in the ref if you're not sure how it works).

[EDIT]

You wont need to use a loop if all of your mobs are dense though. The above would work even if its possible for more than 1 mob to occupy the same location, if you know for a fact that that isn't going to happen in your game, then you can remove the loop and just have it attack the mob in the returned location from get_step.

- Conj'
In response to The Conjuror
how could I make it into a proc so the player can choose the verb or attack by hud-button?

Also the above starts the attack, even if your not next to and/or facing the monster
In response to FriesOfDoom
um......

bump
How do you mean it starts the attack? If you run the above code, it'll only say "attack!" when you're facing/directly infront of a mob. Tested it myself. Ofcourse, you're not pasting the code into yours and hoping for it to work, right? You're learning from it, and adapting it to fit your code, riiiight?

And to put it in a proc its as simple as changing it from a verb definition to a proc definition (remove the verb word, replace with proc), and then call the proc when the verb is selected.
A hud button is easy. Here is an EXAMPLE code...Dont try usin it tho.

Outlinel
Click( )
world << "[usr] is now playing!"
switch(alert("You are about to join the game! What do you want to be?","Icon","Evil","Good","Neutral"))
if("Evil")
usr.loc = locate (1,1,1)
usr.icon = 'person.dmi'
usr.icon_state = "enemy"
if("Good")
usr.loc = locate (1,1,1)
usr.icon = 'person.dmi'
usr.icon_state = "good"
if("Neutral")